What's to come for journalism?.jpg

As I mentioned in my previous post, I am obviously interested in the future of journalism. Since I am an aspiring journalist, I thought it would be important to look into the future of my career path a little bit more. I came across this article that talked about the idea that journalists are going to have to start saying “yes” a lot more.  This intrigued me because as a journalism student, I have been exposed to this idea of saying “no” if it is a story that does not necessarily fall into what we are used to covering.

The author of this article talks about how the idea of saying “yes” can open up a lot of opportunities for news sources. He also claimed that with this new approach to news, journalists should focus more on the “so what” and “now what” questions instead of constantly asking “what.” While asking “what” will always be important, I can understand why it is becoming increasingly important to ask “so what” and “now what.”

With more and more news sources using the Internet to post more content, it becomes dire to a story to answer the “so what” and “now what” so that people actually end up wanting to read your story instead of the thousand other choices they might have. I think that it will be interesting to see if more journalists try this method out as the world of journalism advances.

Leave a Reply

