I came across this video as I was searching for what the future of journalism might be. It caught my attention because it mentioned drones and virtual reality, which I never even considered really being a part of journalism. I can understand the importance and opportunity that comes from a device like drones. However, I had never thought about virtual reality being included in news gathering. In the video it shows an example of a bombing in Syria as a way that journalists are using virtual reality to strengthen their stories.

Another thing that was mentioned in the video was this idea of a software that can write articles if given the proper information. I found this interesting because it could clearly affect journalists by almost replacing them. The video explains that this software answers many of the questions journalists set out to answer, but leave the journalists to answer the how and so what questions. I am interested in seeing where this software ends up going in the near future.

Leave a Reply

